Lime Rock – Rd 3 of the FSR Winter Series

You know guys, I will run this blog as if I am talking to you honestly about what went down in terms of preperation for the race and what happened in my own oppinion. This will be a space for me to connect with followers of the team.

 

This is the story of Lime Rock 2013, (Friday night) I was still uncertain coming into the weekend whether I would be able to race in this FSR race on Sunday morning for me, as I have had very little experience in these cars. At this point on friday, I had only 2 hours of Formula Renault 3.5 Car feel under my belt, aswell as the fact that I had limited training on rF2 in the week that I have had it. I was not at all confident coming into this weekend.

(Saturday) As the new day of practice dawned on me, I was feeling happy that I could test for the whole day and have all the little niggles of the car and track sorted by the time I would come to race  on Sunday morning. This was infact correct and I was happy with the performance that I put in in the day time. A lap time of 43.0, This would later be beaten of course as the car and track came to me even more. That night, I was on the FSR Server and I saw that Blair Disley was in the server, along with Patrick De Wit, Thomas Jackson and Kevin Siggy. This was very exciting for me as Blair is an Aussie just like I. He was my motivation for getting into FSR and to finally be able to meet him and talk to him was something very special for me. I was very happy that night.

 

(Sunday 12:30am) So I set my alarm for 12:30 as I had a few things to do before the race other than just practice. These things included, setting up my On Screen Display (OSD) which tells me race positions, sector times and most importantly for me, race fuel. Some of these features later proved to be helpful such as the sector splits.

 

So, as practice was drawing to a close, it became aparant to me that qualifying would be total chaos. Blue flags would be flown everywhere and nobody should be able to get a clean lap in. It turns out that my fears were justified and were even worse than that! Getting out of the pit lane without getting tapped became a monumental task as it was so busy with mistakes being made left, right and centre on track. I couldn’t get space on track but then after being so angry with the blue flags basically making me go off the track for people behind me, I came out of the pits in some clear air! I thought, right! Jackson DO NOT WASTE THIS OPPORTUNITY! I didn’t, I was able to channel all of my anger and frustration into that lap and I put in my fastest lap of the weekend of a 42.2 beating my previous best by one tenth. That was the first time that I had ever stood up and took charge in Qualifying, so I was very happy. This was all meaningless in terms of position 18th out of 20 something, but it meant that I had potential to pull something out later in my sim career. 

 

The race wasn’t at all pretty with 10 retirements on the first lap. I was in 8th place! De Wit then took out Leppala and so I was up a couple more, but on lap 3, I don’t know who it was, spun on the last corner and I couldn’t see his car due to smoke off his tyres. So BAM, both our races were over at this point, which was disappointing because I knew I couldn’t take the fight to the likes of Kostadinov, De Wit and Morand but I could have had a points finish with the number of finishers being 6.

 

Anyway, thats enough from me, hope you all enjoyed reading about this! I will see you all very shortly.. Bye guys

 

Jackson Wendt, Official Positive SimRacing Driver

 
One thought on “Lime Rock – Rd 3 of the FSR Winter Series

  1. Hello Jackson, I Sargox f1puerto pilot and friend of Javi, from now on I will follow your blog.

    Too bad race, so read’m sure you could have easily reach points, I encourage you to keep fighting, the victories came.

    Let me give you some advice, the concentrationon track is the best setting.

    Regards

Leave a Reply

